America sings:

american choral music after 1950 (Vinyl)
The Non-Traditionalists

Vinyl available at:

The Emperor of Ice-Cream (1961-62) [Rev. 1974]
by Roger Reynolds

Other composers on the recording:
Lukas Foss
Eric Richards
Earle Brown

by The Gregg Smith Singers and Gregg Smith

Liner notes by Gregg Smith

Primary Artist(s): Edwin Harkins, Trumpet; Cecil Lytle, Piano; Daryl Pratt, Percussion

Label: Composer Recording, Inc., CRI SD 495

Recording: Josef Kucera (1984)

About The Emperor of Ice-Cream:
The Emperor of Ice-Cream is a highly theatrical setting of the famous poem by Wallace Stevens about death. There is a multiplicity of elements to the work, not only in the abundance of textures demanded from singer and instrumentalist alike, but in the use of performance spaces which constantly move and change...each individual word is a source for a wealth of color and texture. For Reynolds, one word will also conjure up other words of similar sound and dramatic fervor.... What [comes] through is the tremendous intensity of dramatic expression...

– Gregg Smith